About User Roles

There are two primary types of user roles: Predefined user roles and Custom user roles.

Custom user roles Custom user roles can be created by community managers based on the predefined user roles. When you make custom roles, you always choose a predefined user role to create your custom role from. Please be aware that there are some qualities of the predefined user roles that cannot be changed when you make a custom role from that predefined role type. When you delete a custom role, while you have assigned members to this role, they will automatically become a regular member.

Custom user roles is a Plus plan feature.

Predefined user roles

Predefined user roles are default roles that we see commonly used with our communities. The predefined user roles in CMNTY Platform are:

  • Platform owner role
    The platform owner role is by default the first registered community manager. This role functions exactly the same as a “Community Manager” (see below) except that only this role can access the plan settings page and perform actions within that page.  There can only be one Platform owner and only the Platform owner can transfer this role to someone else via the Payment page.  If the platform owner role is transferred, that new Platform owner will take over responsibility for making payments and managing the associated billing settings/details.
  • Community manager role
    The community manager role is intended for moderators. Community managers have access to the Admin section of CMNTY Platform and can change settings, create content, invite users, etc. Community managers are also able to do a few things in the front-end that other roles cannot. Community managers can see expired, draft, and scheduled items, they can delete and edit other member’s content, they can manually reward and remove points and badges, they have access to the extra options on member profile pages (point history, time spend, history, and device history), they see journal entries of all members, and they can see user groups. Other permissions can be changed with the permission system.
  • Observer role
    The observer role is intended for anyone who needs to know what is happening in the community, but who does not need to add content or interact with other members (this may be your client if you are a market research firm running a research study). Observers are not visible for members in the platform (i.e. members cannot see observers on the community overview page and members cannot send private messages to observers). Observers only see the active items on the front-end as well as journal entries of all members, but cannot add, edit, or delete any content. Other permissions can be changed with the permission system.
  • Member role
    The member role is intended for community participants. Members can only see active items on the front-end, can only edit and delete their own content, and can only see their own journal entries (and responses from community managers). Other permissions can be changed with the permission system.
  • Unkown role
    The unknown role or guest role is a set of permissions that apply to anyone that visits your platform, but who is not logged in. In an invite only platform, guests can only see the login page. In a protected platform, guests can only see the login and registration pages. In an open platform, guests can see all active Platform content, but they cannot participate. Other permissions can be changed with the permission system.

If you would like to change a role, follow the steps below:

  1. Go to the Manage page at the top menu in the admin section.
  2. Choose User Management at the left menu.
  3. At the Options dropdown menu of a member, choose Edit.
    about users role
  4. Change their User role to a role of your choice, and don’t forget to hit the Save button in the right corner.
    change a role

User role by invite

You can also give a user a specific role while sending them an invite by following the steps below:

  1. Go to the Manage page at the top menu in the admin section.
  2. Choose Invites at the left menu.
  3. Click Add invites in the overview.
  4. Fill in the information and choose a User Role.

Was this article helpful?

Related Articles