Allowing “Opting-out” Settings

Opt-out is the ability for a user to subscribe or unsubscribe to an email notification or newsletter. A user is subscribed to all active email notifications by default. The notification emails that allow users to opt-out have a note in the email footer that links users to the profile page where they can change the opt-out settings.

Email message

You activate or deactivate the opt-out for an email message by following the steps below:

  1. Go to Configure at the top menu in Admin.
  2. Choose Email and click Email Messages at the left menu.
  3. Click Options and choose Edit.
    opt-out settings
  4. Activate to allow users to (un)subscribe by turning the ‘Allow opt-out’ switch to ONDeactivate the opt-out possibility for this notification email by turning the switch to OFF.allow opt-out

Newsletter

You activate or deactivate the opt-out for a newsletter by following the steps below:

  1. Go to Configure at the top menu in Admin.
  2. Underneath Users, choose Profile at the left menu.
  3. Click the Opt-Out of Newsletter switch to activate or deactivate the opt-out.opt-out of newsletter

When a user has unsubscribed from an email notification or newsletter and then you deactivate the opt-out function, the opt-out option won’t be displayed on the profile page, however, the user still won’t receive the email notification or newsletter, since he had, at one time, unsubscribed.

Read this article for more information about email notifications.

Read more about building an online community following the why, how and what

Was this article helpful?

Related Articles