When you look at your user groups, you may sometimes see a group marked Obsolete. When a user group is obsolete, it means the user group has been deactivated.
You can still adjust the triggers of an obsolete user group, if necessary, and to reactivate the groups, simply follow the steps below:
- Go to Manage at the top menu in Admin.
- Underneath Users, choose User Groups at the left menu.
- Select Options next to a group. Here you can edit, add triggers, activate, deactivate, etc.
You may want to do this if you have a long-term community with many user groups, some of which are no longer needed. While you could delete the user group, this would also mean that any content assigned to the group could become available to all members. To avoid this, you can deactivate the user group instead.
Dynamic user groups can be deactivated automatically (i.e. when content or a profile field used in a trigger of this dynamic user group is deleted) or you can deactivate a dynamic user group manually.
Example: Suppose you have a dynamic user group with a trigger based on participation in a certain topic. All members who participate in this topic will be added to the user group. If you delete the topic, however, the trigger will no longer work, so the dynamic user group will be deactivated.
When a dynamic user group is deactivated, the user group will no longer update automatically, but users in this user group will stay in the user group and the content assigned to this user group will still be assigned to this user group.